Thanks to supporters.

Thanks to supporters.

1. Before continuing in this article or any article in this blog, I recommend that you read the article entitled, Lakewoodites for McCartney: (which was originally written when I was running for a seat on the city’s council,) otherwise the paragraphs that are numbered 2 – 5 and 77 – 78 of that article. But persons ought to know that they (and you) are responsible, (although some act recklessly,) and ought to act responsibly.

2. While I was attempting to do my part to make Lakewood a better city for myself under God, which could eventually have resulted in a better city for persons that seek to please God, I got some support from some persons that took time out of their lives to listen to me, and sign my nominating petition, and that voted for me, or what I stand for. [Signing the nominating petition does not necessarily mean perfect (complete) agreement with me, nor does voting.]

3. I circulated a nominating petition, which was signed by a sufficient number of registered voters. Although some did not agree with my theonomic (promoting God’s law) or theocratic (promoting God’s rule) position, they signed it, which helped to put me on the ballot for the September 8, 2009 primary election for Council-at-Large. Republicans, Democrats, and Independents signed it; for Lakewood has nonpartisan elections for city offices.

4. I was pleasantly surprised by the liberal (generous) attitude of some of my fellow Lakewoodites. Although some did not agree with my political position, they generously gave me the opportunity to appear on the primary ballot to let the voters decide. My thanks to them.

5. And of course my thanks to persons which basically agree with my theonomic or theocratic position. (Some agreed more than others.)

6. Petitioning was a learning experience for me. I met various persons. I was offered a drink of water. See Matthew 10:42. That was a kindness that I remember.

7. After learning that I had more than enough valid signatures to become a candidate after filing my petition, I began to pass out literature promoting my candidacy and theocratic position based on Deuteronomy 28. I did not hand it out to every one. If I thought that I would not represent a soul, or if that person did not agree with my theocratic position, I usually did not hand out my literature to such a person, which saved me money. My thanks to those which took the time to talk with me, and to those that basically agreed with my position of promoting God’s rule on the earth that he created, and to those which took my literature, and took the time to read it.

8. At both the petition and campaign stages, regarding persons that were polite and decent to me, my thanks to them (or you).

9. Only six (6) of the nine (9) candidates passed on to the regular municipal election (general election) to be held on November 3, 2009. I was eighth (8th) of the nine (9) candidates. Therefore I did not pass through the primary election that was held on September 8, 2009.

10. More than 500 persons voted either for me, or, preferably, for what I stand for, which is scriptural rule. (483 was the unofficial count. After the absentee ballots were counted, 512 was the official number according to the following link. http://boe.cuyahogacounty.us/pdf_boe/en-US/Sep08OfficialCanvass.HTM) My thanks to all of you. I think that that was brave, and right, not so much to vote for me, but to vote for the right type of ruling or governing: for theocracy is being publicly denigrated in America. Some call Islamic rule a theocracy, and thereby muddy the waters of the people’s understanding. (I am for Christian government according to the scriptures, which includes the law of Moses, except for the sacrifice of animals which was abrogated by the new testament.) But candidly I am not sure why all of those persons voted for me. I do not know if some were unaware of my theocratic position, which I attempted to make clear to every person that I contacted when campaigning.

11. McCartney is an Irish name. Perhaps I got some votes for that reason, which is not necessarily wrong when considering a principle taught in Deuteronomy 17:15 about seeking to have one’s kindred to be a ruler. (Although I am part Irish, it is not by the McCartney name; for my grandfather McCartney was not originally named McCartney. He was adopted by Red McCartney in the commonwealth of Pennsylvania.)

12. I do not know if more advertising could have helped me, or hurt me (for a considerable number of persons are not theocratic). I did not do as much as I could have done. For that, I am sorry. I did not have yard signs. My money for campaigning was not as much as I desired. I basically did what I could with what I had.

13. But it was recommended to me to use the internet, which I initially resisted. (I assayed to be old fashioned.) When I got a blog, which was on August 26, 2009, I suspect that it was too late; for by then some had sent in their absentee ballots. Campaigning was a learning experience for me.

14. I went door to door in wards IV and III. I am sorry that I did not visit you people in wards II and I. I was working my way toward you. But being eliminated in the primary election stopped my candidacy.

15. Although I did not come close to qualifying to be voted for in the regular municipal election, I am encouraged by over 500 persons voting for theocratic rule, or something like that (unless it was for other reasons).

16. I learned that when the American separation from Great Britain began, the majority of the colonists were not in favour of separating. But after a while, and some shed blood, it became popular to oppose the British.

17. We are seeing to day in America the denigration of God’s law and God publicly by some governmental officers, such as judges, which makes such judges appear to be either ignorant, stupid, unjust, antichrist, or something that is not good. (Contempt for God and his law is not good.) I do not intend to tolerate such marginalisation of the right ruler to the effect that God is ignored and disobeyed.

18. There have been some arguments that have had the effect of twisting the constitution, according to my opinion, such that it appears that deception was employed. And enough judges of the United States’ Supreme Court agreed with it to the extent that they ruled against God’s law for some public applications, and thereby ruled against God. That is a usurpation. (The Supreme Court so called is under God, not equal to him, and not above him.) One of the reasons why an American revolution began was a usurpation. For that you may read The Declaration of Independence.

19. The American Civil Liberties Union (A. C. L. U.) and Americans United for Separation of Church and State, (Americans United, or, A. U.) which are not always wrong, have made some arguments about the first sixteen (16) words of the first (1st) amendment to the American constitution, which have had an ungodly effect on the American union. Those two (2) organisations have built an house of cards which can be upset by the truth. But to get some judges to recognise the truth about those sixteen (16) words almost seems to be harder than getting a Klansman to like violent blacks.

20. Some of the decisions of the American Supreme Court have gone against the ten commandments, the Bible, prayer, and God, for public purposes. That could give one the impression that that court is seeking to please ungodly communist rulers in the old Soviet Union rather than God or Christian Americans.

21. If the Supreme Court of the United States doesn’t judge rightly regarding God and his law soon, we Americans may through our representatives enact a theonomic constitutional amendment.

22. I encourage you that seek God’s rule on this earth to become politically active. Some perverts are active. How about you? If you don’t become active, they will gladly make decisions for you. Some of them would redefine marriage, and practise a sin that is so bad that God destroyed two (2) cities or more for it. (See Genesis 19, and other scriptures.) That ought to concern you. Consider what a founding father said before the sin of sodomy was shamelessly practised like it is to day.

23. Thomas Jefferson said, I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just; that His justice cannot sleep forever. That quotation was taken from the jacket of a book by William J. Federer called, America’s God and Country Encyclopedia of Quotations. According to that book it was from Notes on the State of Virginia of 1781. (And see Hebrews 10:31 and 12:29.)

24. If you would like help, I suggest that you read, study, believe, obey, and practise the Bible according to the King James Version, and contact the board of elections of the county. And if you would contact me, you may.

25. Again, my thanks to all of you that supported me, or, more importantly, that which I stand for, which is the Creator, and his rule according to the scriptures being led by his Spirit.

Edward M. McCartney

Lakewood, Ohio

Posted on October 11 anno Domini 2009.

This second (2nd) edition was revised on December 8 A. D. 2009.

2009.10.11.1f.

Leave a Reply

